Here With Me – Chapter 2

Hello Everyone!

How are you?

Here is the new chapter for the new story. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Here With Me

Chapter 2

Darkness. That is all that can be seen behind closed eyes.

Suddenly, it appeared. A flicker of light like a sparkling star in the distance. It grew brighter and brighter eventually consuming everything in its path. The warmth of the light brushed against the skin awakening every cell in the body.

Sounds. The sound of blood pounding in the ears. The heart beating feverishly.

A prickly feeling rushed through the entire body, resurrecting movement in a lifeless body.

My eyes opened gradually, but my vision was blurry. I couldn’t make out where I was. My throat was parched. I needed water. All I could hear was many strange beeping sounds of machines surrounding me. Then I heard it…a distorted voice…speaking in a devilish tone.

“Oh thank God! She’s awake. Get the doctor!”

Somewhere in my mind an unknown voice lingered. It spoke to me, ‘It’s time to wake up Keisha. I’m waiting for you.’

Suddenly everything disappeared and I was lost to the world once again.

~X~

The Next Day

When my eyes opened, I took in my surroundings. The walls were pure white, and the room smelled like disinfectant spray and it wafted throughout the whole building. Beside me was a small bedside table, and on that table was a vase of flowers and a cup of water which was covered by a coaster.

Adjacent to me was a chair and I noticed it was occupied. My brother Cole was sprawled out on the chair, sleeping. When he couldn’t get comfortable, one of his eyes popped open, and he instantly sat up and yawned.

He checked his watch and with a cheerful smile he said, “Good afternoon, Nicola Allyson! You’re finally in the land of the living!” He got up from the seat and hugged me tight like a bear trap clutching to its prey.

“You know, we were all worried about you,” he said as he went and sat back on the chair, he sat at the edge of the seat, his arms resting on his knees as he leaned forwards, “we thought we had lost you forever.”

“Why?” I asked him. I was utterly lost.

“Wait, you don’t remember, do you?”

“Remember what?”

Cole sighed and looked straight into my eyes, “long story short…you had a stalker. You witnessed him killing your best friend because she found his ‘so called’ shrine dedicated to you, she called and asked you to meet her there so she could show you. Afterwards, you went to the police and filed a report, but they could never catch him. He then started to threaten you and almost killed you…hence you went under witness protection because no matter what he would always find you.” Cole lowered his eyes, I think he saw the I-don’t-know-what-you’re-talking-about expression playing on my face; and Cole stood up, “I’ll be back in a moment.” He left the room.

I was alone for quite some time. I watched the entrance of the room hoping Cole would return as I began to feel unsafe, as if unknown eyes were spying on me. Out of nowhere someone else appeared in the entrance to the ward room, someone I didn’t know or never seen before. When my eyes landed on him, my heart skipped a beat.

“Who are you?” I asked, sitting up in my hospital bed.

“My name is Justin.” He said resting against the door frame with his arms folded.

“Do I know you?”

“Of course, you know me, Keisha. I’m your fiancé.” I could tell my expression was of pure bewilderment.

“Excuse me, what did you just say?”

Just like that he smiled and left. It was uncanny to explain but, it felt like my heart wanted to jump out and land straight in his hands! Why did I feel this way? We only just met! I began to panic, I couldn’t figure out what was happening to me…maybe, it was a dream and I’m just waiting to wake up. I pinched my skin and it hurt. Nope. This was not a dream.

I ripped out the wires that were connected to a drip and scrambled out of my bed, only to fall on the floor. My legs felt stiff and numb, I was unable to move.

“Nicola!” Cole rushed up to my side and hoisted me back on my feet again and tucked me into bed. My breathing was rapid; I was distraught.

“What are you doing? You should be resting!” Cole was angry at me.

“I don’t know what is going on! I don’t even know why I’m in hospital! I don’t know why this complete stranger came and told me he was my fiancé!” I cried into his shoulder and I couldn’t stop myself. I felt him tense as he pulled me away at arms length.

“What was his name?” He asked.

“He said his name was Justin.” I sobbed. I could see the shock on his face, and as quickly as it arrived he made it vanish. He embraced me again and stroked the long length of my hair.

“It’s okay Nicola. You’re safe. No one can hurt you any more…” His voice became mute.

What did you guys think? Confusing right? Well everything will get clearer as the chapters come down!

This reminds me of when I was in college and the strange ideas I used to come out with 🙂

2 responses to “Here With Me – Chapter 2

Leave a Reply

